Edusync Microsoft settings explained

Have more questions? Submit a request

An overview of Edusync Microsoft settings to help you make the right decisions for your Microsoft Entra ID tenant.

 

Please note: The settings that you find in this page on the main UI are exactly the same as those in the third step of the initial setup wizard.

 

First, you will be presented with options on Groups.

Groups can be created based upon the registration groups, year groups and house groups in the schools' MIS/SIS, toggling this on will provision ALL groups of this type to Microsoft. You can match your groups on the 'Match groups' page on the Edusync Microsoft UI in order to stop duplication or even ignore a group in your MIS/SIS altogether.

 

You can also choose for Edusync to manage the memberships of these groups based on the memberships of the groups in the schools' MIS/SIS as well as whether you would like membership removals to be done automatically by Edusync or manually by yourself via Microsoft Entra ID .

 

So long as you select a user form the Directory to own all of these Groups with paid access to Microsoft Teams, each Group will also have a Team appended to it.

 

Finally, you can choose a date from which to Archive all Class Teams (deleting the attached group) and a date from which they will be reprovisioned (after the new academic year rollover), between which dates, no new Groups or Teams will be provisioned.

 

 

You will then need to select the domain and the administrative unit (AU) that you would be able to find any current student users in also bear in mind that when running a sync with user creation enabled, this is the AU that Edusync will provision the new users to.  

 

Select the domain and administrative unit (AU) that contain your current student users. When you run a sync with user creation enabled, Edusync will provision new users to this AU.

 

 

You will also need to select the staff domain and AU as above.

 

You can choose to omit either staff or students in the rules section with the toggle buttons. If the toggle is off, the users from each group will not be included in the Directory of Edusync Microsoft and when custom rules are applied, users outside of the selected groups will be omitted from the Directory here as well.

You can create custom rules for student users, e.g; to only omit certain classes as shown in the below example.

 

Edusync can provision Microsoft accounts based on school MIS/SIS data (preferred names). Note: If you have existing users in your Microsoft Entra ID tenant please use the naming convention that you already use for users so that Edusync can match your existing users and avoid duplicating them.

A separate email address naming convention for each students and staff can be selected and Edusync provides a list of useful defaults to help you with this. Duplications will be handled by adding a number on the end.

 

Edusync Microsoft can also suspend and delete users from your Azure tenant based upon their employment end dates or leaving dates in the schools' MIS/SIS. Separate options are provided for both staff and students.

Again, this can be turned off and handled manually in your Azure Portal.

 

You can also assign password creation policies using dictionaries of words by dragging and dropping those dictionaires into the student and staff field boxes for these features as below.

Alternatively you can set standard passwords for both staff and student users, instead of using the above option and set that password to be changed at next login upon new user creation by using the Force password change at next login toggle. 
Only one of the above options can be used and failure to populate either option will result in an alphanumeric 8 character password being created for each user.
Passwords for new users can be obtained by selecting those users in the Directory page and going to Action selected >> Download passwords. This will generate a CSV file download that will only contain the passwords of users created by Edusync Microsoft and will not show any password changes once they occur.

Save any settings when you are happy with them before running a sync at the top of the Directory page.

 

 

Please contact support@wonde.com if you require assistance understanding any of the settings on this page.

Articles in this section

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Share

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.